Resources

Artists and Individuals
Museums, Galleries and Organisations
General

(click to jump to section)

Artists and Individuals

Lawrence Alma Tadema (1836-1912)   www.alma-tadema.org
Charles Robert Ashbee (1863-1942)   wikipedia.org/wiki/Charles_Robert_Ashbee
William Arthur Smith Benson (1854-1924)   www.victorianweb.org/art/design/benson/index.html
George Price Boyce (1826-97)   George Price Boyce on Wikipedia
John Brett (1831-1902)   wikipedia.org/wiki/John_Brett
Ford Madox Brown (1821-93)   wikipedia.org/wiki/Ford_Madox_Brown
Edward Burne-Jones (1833-98)   www.birmingham.gov.uk/burnejones
Georgiana Burne-Jones (1840-1920)   wikipedia.org/wiki/MacDonald_sisters#Georgiana
Eleanor Fortescue Brickdale (1872-1945)  wikipedia.org/wiki/Eleanor_Fortescue-Brickdale
Hall Caine (1853-1931)   http://www.isle-of-man.com/manxnotebook/people/writers/thc.htm
Julia Margaret Cameron (1815-79)   www.dimbola.co.uk/
William Wilkie Collins (1824-89)   wikipedia.org/wiki/Wilkie_Collins
Sarah Doyle (Poet)   www.sarahdoyle.co.uk
William E. Fredeman (1928-1999) – editor of Rossetti correspondence www.memorybc.ca/william-e-fredeman-fonds;rad   www.independent.co.uk/arts-entertainment/obituary-william-e-fredeman-1114639.html
Euphemia Gray, later Millais (1828-97)   wikipedia.org/wiki/Effie_Gray
Lucinda Hawksley (Biographer)   www.lucindahawksley.com
William Holman Hunt (1827-1910)   wikipedia.org/wiki/William_Holman_Hunt
Frederick Hollyer (1838-1933)   wikipedia.org/wiki/Frederick_Hollyer
Arthur Hughes (1832-1915) – compiled by Leonard Roberts, author of
Arthur Hughes: His Life and Works   www.arthurhughes.org   wikipedia.org/wiki/Arthur_Hughes_(artist)
Archibald Knox (1864-1933)   wikipedia.org/wiki/Archibald_Knox_(designer)
Frederic Leighton (1830-96)   wikipedia.org/wiki/Frederic_Leighton,_1st_Baron_Leighton
Fiona MacCarthy (Biographer)   wikipedia.org/wiki/Fiona_MacCarthy
Jan Marsh (Biographer)   janmarsh.blogspot.co.uk
John Everett Millais (1829-96)   wikipedia.org/wiki/John_Everett_Millais
Evelyn de Morgan (1855-1919)   wikipedia.org/wiki/Evelyn_De_Morgan
William de Morgan (1841-1917)   wikipedia.org/wiki/William_De_Morgan
Jane Morris (1839-1914)   wikipedia.org/wiki/Jane_Morris
May Morris (1862-1938)   wikipedia.org/wiki/May_Morris
William Morris (1834-96)   wikipedia.org/wiki/William_Morris
Charles Fairfax Murray (1849-1919)   www.fitzmuseum.cam.ac.uk/biographies/bio/fairfaxmurray_biography.html
Valentine Cameron Prinsep (1838-1904)   wikipedia.org/wiki/Valentine_Cameron_Prinsep
Augustus Welby Northmore Pugin (1812-52)    wikipedia.org/wiki/AugustusWelby_Northmore_Pugin
Dinah Roe (Writer)   www.dinahroe.com
Christina Rossetti (1830-94)   wikipedia.org/wiki/Christina_Rossetti
Dante Gabriel Rossetti (1828-82)   http://www.rossettiarchive.org   wikipedia.org/wiki/Dante_Gabriel_Rossetti
William Michael Rossetti (1829-1919)   wikipedia.org/wiki/William_Michael_Rossetti
John Ruskin (1819-1900)   wikipedia.org/wiki/John_Ruskin   ruskin.ashmolean.org/
Anthony Frederick Sandys (1829-1904)    wikipedia.org/wiki/Frederick_Sandys
John Singer Sargent (1856-1925)   www.jssgallery.org   www.johnsingersargent.org   wikipedia.org/wiki/John_Singer_Sargent
William Bell Scott (1811-90)   wikipedia.org/wiki/William_Bell_Scott
Elizabeth Siddal (1829-62)    wikipedia.org/wiki/Elizabeth_Siddal
Simeon Solomon (1840-1905)  wikipedia.org/wiki/Simeon_Solomon   www.simeonsolomon.com – compiled by Roberto C. Ferrari
John Roddam Spencer Stanhope (1829-1908)   wikipedia.org/wiki/John_Roddam_Spencer_Stanhope
Frederic George Stephens (1828-1907)   wikipedia.org/wiki/Frederic_George_Stephens
Marie Spartali Stillman (1843-1927)   wikipedia.org/wiki/Marie_Spartali_Stillman
Algernon Charles Swinburne (1837-1909)   swinburneproject.indiana.edu/swinburne/   wikipedia.org/wiki/Algernon_Charles_Swinburne
Alfred, Lord Tennyson (1809-92)   wikipedia.org/wiki/Alfred,_Lord_Tennyson
Angela Thirlwell (Biographer)   www.angelathirlwell.co.uk
Elihu Vedder (1836-1923) – the “American Pre-Raphaelite”   www.elihuvedder.org   wikipedia.org/wiki/Elihu_Vedder
Emery Walker (1851-1933)   wikipedia.org/wiki/Emery_Walker
John William Waterhouse (1849-1917)   www.johnwilliamwaterhouse.com   www.jwwaterhouse.com   wikipedia.org/wiki/John_William_Waterhouse
George Frederic Watts (1817-1904)   wikipedia.org/wiki/George_Frederic_Watts
Philip Speakman Webb (1831-1915)   wikipedia.org/wiki/Philip_Webb
Joanna Boyce Wells (1831-61)   wikipedia.org/wiki/Joanna_Mary_Boyce
Thomas Woolner (1825-92)   wikipedia.org/wiki/Thomas_Woolner   www2.iath.virginia.edu/courses/ennc986/class/bios/woolner.html

Back to Top

Museums, Galleries and Organisations

The Helen Allingham Society   www.helenallingham.com
Arizona State University   www.asu.edu/lib/speccoll/prb/
Ashmolean Museum, Oxford  www.ashmolean.org
Birmingham Museum & Art Gallery   http://www.birminghammuseums.org.uk/bmag
Birmingham Museum & Art Gallery Resource   www.preraphaelites.org
Blackwell, Cumbria – Arts & Crafts House   www.blackwell.org.uk
Brantwood, Cumbria – Home of John Ruskin   www.brantwood.org.uk
The British Association for Victorian Studies   https://bavs.ac.uk/
Buscot Park, Oxfordshire   www.buscot-park.com/faringdon-collection
Court Barn Museum, Chipping Campden   www.courtbarn.org.uk
Delaware Art Museum   www.preraph.org
The DeMorgan Centre, London   www.demorgan.org.uk
Guildhall Art Gallery, London   www.guildhallartgallery.cityoflondon.gov.uk/gag/
Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center   www.hrc.utexas.edu/collections/art/holdings/pre_raphaelite/
The Huntington Library   www.huntington.org
Kelmscott Manor, Oxfordshire – country home of William Morris   www.kelmscottmanor.org.uk
Archibald Knox Society   www.archibaldknoxsociety.com
Leighton House Museum, London   www.rbkc.gov.uk/subsites/museums/leightonhousemuseum.aspx
The Maas Gallery, London – dealer in Pre-Raphaelite and Victorian artworks   www.maasgallery.co.uk
Manchester Art Gallery, Manchester   www.manchestergalleries.org
Morris & Co.   www.william-morris.co.uk   wikipedia.org/wiki/Morris_%26_Co.
William Morris Gallery, London   www.wmgallery.org.uk
William Morris Society – U.K. and U.S.A.   www.williammorrissociety.org
Peter Nahum Galleries, London – dealer in Pre-Raphaelite and Victorian artworks   http://www.leicestergalleries.com
National Museums Liverpool (Walker Art Gallery & Lady Lever Art Gallery)   www.liverpoolmuseums.org.uk
National Portrait Gallery, London   www.npg.org.uk
Oxford Union Murals  www.oxford-union.org/library/murals
Pugin Society  www.thepuginsociety.co.uk
Thomas Ross Limited, Bedfordshire   www.thomasross.co.uk
Ruskin Library, Lancaster   http://www.lancs.ac.uk/users/ruskinlib
Sanderson & Co.   www.sanderson-uk.com
Standon, Sussex   http://www.nationaltrust.org.uk/standen
St. Martin’s Pre-Raphaelite Church, Brampton, Cumbria – designed by Philip Webb, with stained glass by Edward Burne-Jones   www.stmartinsbrampton.org.uk
St. Philip’s Cathedral, Colmore Row, Birmingham – stained glass by Edward Burne-Jones   http://www.birminghamcathedral.com/
Tate Britain, London   www.tate.org.uk
Victoria & Albert Museum, London   www.vam.ac.uk
Victorian Society   www.victoriansociety.org.uk
Emery Walker House, London   www.emerywalker.org.uk
Watts Gallery, Guildford, Surrey   www.wattsgallery.org.uk
Wightwick Manor, Wolverhampton   www.nationaltrust.org.uk/wightwickmanor
Winged Heart Stained Glass   www.winged-heart.com

Back to Top

General

Artmagick – extensive collection of PRB images   https://www.facebook.com/ArtMagickErgoSum/
The Pre-Raphaelite Brotherhood – Bob Speel   myweb.tiscali.co.uk/speel
The Pre-Raphaelite Critic – Thomas J. Tobin   www.engl.duq.edu/servus/PR_Critic
The Gamble House – an outstanding example of American Arts & Crafts architecture   www.gamblehouse.org
Poem Hunter   www.poemhunter.com
Pre-Raphaelite Online Resource   www.preraphaelites.org
Pre-Raphaelite Women Artists   http://www.victorianweb.org/painting/prb/6.html
Ruskin Pottery   wikipedia.org/wiki/Ruskin_Pottery
George P. Landow’s … The Victorian Web   www.victorianweb.org

Back to Top